Facts on peacock, मोर पर तथ्य

FACTS ON PEACOCK, मोर पर तथ्य


Lord Karthikeya, who the Hindu God of War, also rides on a peacock.


Male peafowl is called peacock while female is called peahen.


They are one of the largest flying birds. Their length (including tail) can reach 5 feet. They can weigh between 8-13 pounds.


They are omnivores (eat both plants and animals). They like to eat insects, arthropods, amphibians, flowers, seeds…


Their main predators are tigers, leopards, mongoose… When they sense a danger, they fly and hide in the trees. They spend nights on trees for the same reason.


Family of peafowl is called "bevy".


Group of peafowl is called "party".


Beautiful and colorful tails are characteristic only for the males.


Colors of the tail will look different every time you change the angle of looking because of the reflection of the light.


Tail makes 60% of peacock's total length.


Peahen chooses its partner by the length, width and coloration of the tail.


Peacocks are polygamous (mate with more than one female) and usually form a harem that consists of 2-5 females. Left alone peacocks are very sad and heart-broken.


Although very beautiful, peacocks produce unpleasant sounds.


Females lay 3-5 eggs. Young birds will hatch after 28 days.


One day old baby peafowl can walk, eat and drink without assistance.


Peafowl live up to 20 years both in the wild and in the captivity.


The peacock, also widely popular as peafowl, is a medium-sized, colorful bird belonging to the pheasant family. The bird is native to Asia.


About 3000 years ago, Phoenicians imported different species of peacocks to Egypt and used them for a variety of purposes, particularly decorations.


You can find three prominent species of a peacock, namely the Indian peacock, the African Congo peacock, and the Green peacock.


Peacock is the male bird, while Peahen is the female and together they are known as peafowl. The offsprings are called peachicks.


Prominently, you can find peacocks in India, Sri Lanka, and Burma.


Peacocks are found in captivity in England and Japan. This is so that their population can be increased there.


Peacocks also eat small reptiles, such as young cobra snakes, amphibians, butterflies, chicken, flies, and mice vole.


Peacocks possess unique anatomy which makes them beautiful birds. Here, we list some prominent physical parts of the bird.


There are white blotches above and below the eyes of a peacock.


Usually, these birds travel in groups of eight to ten.


Some studies reveal that peacock sings during the mating season to impress and attract the peahens.


In the Greek and Roman mythologies, Goddess Hera is associated with peacocks.


People believe that the white peacock brings eternal happiness.


The wingspan of a peacock is up to six feet.


The Congo peacock does not display his covert feathers, but uses his actual tail feathers during courtship displays.


Both sexes of all species have bare patches of skin around their eyes and a funny crest on the top of their head made of feathers arranged in a fan shape.


Peafowls can (sort of) fly- they tend to run and take several small leaps before a big final hop. They can't stay airborne for very long, but their huge wingspan allows them to flutter quite far.


Most nests are on the ground while some of them roost in trees.


At four weeks, the young grow crests, and at two months they look just like their mother (both males and females) but are only half her size.


The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species categorized Green peafowl as an "endangered species" in 2012.


A group of peafowl is called a party, muster, ostentation or pride.


Peacocks are mentioned in the Bible as one of the most precious items brought from Asia by King Solomon's ships.


A family of peafowl is known as a "bevy". Moreover, a group of these birds are known as an "Ostention", a "muster", and even a "party".


The peacock is among the largest of all birds that fly, which have been 6 to 7 feet in length and weighs around 4 to 6 kg.


The peafowl can live up to 10-25 years in the wild. Although in captivity, they are able to survive for more than 50 years.


The peacock’s tail converts has more than 200 brightly coloured feathers and almost all of these feathers end with an elaborate eye-spot.


केवल पुरुष मोर को ही peacock कहा जाता हैं। मादा मोर को peahens और बच्चों को peachicks और इन सभी के लिए सामूहिक शब्द ‘peafowl’ इस्तेमाल किया जाता है।


मोर बिना खूबसूरत चंदो के जन्म लेता है। चंदे 3 साल बाद आने शुरू होते है और ये केवल पुरूष मोर को ही आते है जबकि मादा मोर बिना चंदो की होती है। (चंदे means पंख). एक मोर की पूंछ में 150 चंदे तक हो सकते है।


मोर का रंग नीला, हरा, सफेद, जामनी और धुमैला (grey) भी हो सकता है।


मोर के सुंदर और रंगीन चंदो की लंबाई छः फीट तक हो सकती हैं, जो उसके शरीर की लंबाई का लगभग 60% भी है।


नीला मोर, भारत का राष्ट्रीय पक्षी है और धुमैला मोर, म्यांमार का राष्ट्रीय पक्षी है।


मोर की आवाज: मोर 11 अलग-अलग तरह की आवाज़ निकाल सकता हैं।


मोर 16 किलोमीटर प्रति घंटा की तेज़ रफ़्तार से दौड़ सकते हैं और इतनी ही रफ्तार से उड़ भी सकते हैं। यह धरती पर सबसे बड़े उड़ने वाले पक्षियों में से एक है।


मोर पानी में तुरंत डूब जाएगा क्योंकि यह तैर नहीं सकता ऐसा इसलिए क्योंकि इनके पास झल्लीदार पैर नहीं होते।


मोर को भारतीय वन्य जीव अधिनियम 1972 के तहत संरक्षित किया गया है आप इसका शिकार नही कर सकते।


जंगल में मोर का औसतन जीवनकाल 20 साल का होता है।


मोर क्या खाता है : मोर सर्वाहरी पौधे और जीव-जंतु दोनों खाने वाले) होते है यह घास, पत्ते, चने, गेंहू, कीड़े-मकौड़े, चूहे , छिपकली, दीमक और सांप तक को भी खा जाता है। इसलिए इन्हें किसानो का अच्छा मित्र भी कहा जाता है।


मोर के पंखों या चंदो के लिए उन्हें मारने की ज़रूरत नहीं है क्योंकि यह हर साल अगस्त के महीने मे अपने पुराने पँखो को छोड़ देता है। आप जंगलों आदि से इन्हें इकट्ठा कर सकते है।


मोर के पंख ऐसे-ऐसे छोटे-छोटे क्रिस्टल जैसी संरचनाओं से ढके होते हैं कि आप जितनी बार अलग एंगल से इन्हें देखेंगे आपको हर बार नया रंग दिखाई देगा। हमिंगबर्ड और शिम्मेरिंग तितलियों के पंख पर भी ऐसा ही cyrstal होता हैं।


मोरो का जिक्र बाइबल में भी है ऐसा लिखा गया है कि राजा सुलेमान के जहाजों द्वारा एशिया से बाहर ले जाने वाली सबसे मूल्यवान वस्तुओं में से एक मोर थे।


प्राचीन यूनानियों का मानना ​​था कि मोरनी का शरीर उसकी मौत के बाद भी नही सड़ता इसलिए इसे अमरता का प्रतीक माना गया।


सिकंदर मोर का बहुत शौकीन था और ऐसा कहा जाता है कि सिकंदर ही मोरो को लेकर यूनान गया जिसके बाद मोर पूरी दुनिया में पहुंचे।


हिन्दू धर्म में मोर को उच्च कोटि का दर्जा प्राप्त है। इसीलिए श्रीकृष्ण के मुकुट में मोर का पंख लगा था और इसीलिए मोर कार्तिक भगवान का वाहन भी था। कार्तिक भगवान शिव जी के बेटे थे।


भारत के इतिहास के सबसे विशाल साम्राज्य मौर्य साम्राज्य का राष्ट्रीय चिन्ह भी मोर ही था। चंद्रगुप्त मौर्य के राज्य में जो सिक्के चलते थे उनकी एक तरफ मोर छपा होता था।


मुगल बादशाह शाहजहां जिस तख्त पर बैठता था उसकी रचना ऐसी थी कि दो मोरों के बीच बादशाह की गद्दी और पीछे पंख फैलाये मोर। इस गद्दी को ‘तख़्त-ए-ताऊस’ कहा जाता था। आपको बता दें कि ताऊस अरबी भाषा का शब्द है जो मोर के लिए उपयोग होता है।


प्राचीन काल में मोर के पंख को स्याही में डुबोकर लिखने के लिए भी इस्तेमाल किया जाता था। आपने रामायण, महाभारत आदि में लिखते समय बड़े-बड़े ऋषियों के हाथ में इसे देखा भी होगा।